Popovers turn flopovers in silicone mold

Ah yes, and that answers your question if, like me, you were hoping that with a little extra time in the oven, popovers baked in silicone molds would turn out a success. These rose beautifully but once removed from the molds, the lower part instantly shrivelled up like old mushrooms. I had to try anyway being that today is blueberry popover day, and once cooled I ate 3 of them one after the other. The recipe on King Arthur Baking is excellent!

Getting an actual popover pan is out of the question as I have too much baking stuff. Old and well-used pans on the other hand, are still waiting for someone to rescue them at my inlaw’s. I would hate to see these ‘heirlooms’ end up in a garbage heap. We’ll see what comes back with me tomorrow.

10 thoughts on “Popovers turn flopovers in silicone mold

  1. Nonna T

    Your popovers look pretty anyways and I bet that they tasted yummy. I too, recently used the King Arthur recipe for popovers using a muffin tin. I do hope that you get some cool kitchen stuff. We stayed at an old apartment in Mantova while seeing the city and the kitchen had quite a collection of copper molds.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      They did not last the day. And at this point, I am very tempted to get a popover pan (the Nordicware one looks perfect!).

      Strange that Mama didn’t own any copper pieces. She does have a soapstone cooking slab though – quite heavy! – that I will take if my sister-in-law doesn’t want it.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      I will probably be the only female of the entire clan to take anything. I’m actually seeing stuff that has never been there before, so I think the house has become a sort of ‘dumping ground’ for unwanted items!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Julia

    The popovers did look stunning in the oven. I have also found the King Arthur recipes to be some of the best. I used them many times and start with them as a base for experiments.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      King Arthur is usually the first place I go to for your standard, basic recipes. I like that they get right to the point and do not inundate your screen with photos.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.