Bagna cauda feast in Monale

A feast and I’m not kidding! On the menu: an assortment of cured meats, bagna cauda with 15 types of vegetables, meat broth with tiny pasta, boiled beef with salad greens, pears cooked in wine and of course, wine, water, coffee and bread.

The last bagna cauda we went to was in December 2022, for Bagna Cauda Day to be exact, so I wasn’t sure if I’d find anything in January. However, Google always provides, and off we went to what would become the 99th listing in 100 ways to celebrate Italy.

If there is one thing to be said about this event, it’s that they are incredibly organized. Dining was communal-style in a single room full of tables which were already set. There was someone to take us directly to our seating.

Platters of an assortment of raw vegetables (and also bowls of cooked vegetables) were placed at intervals along the length of the table.

The nice thing about elbow-to-elbow dining is chatting with those next to you. But I noticed how things got quiet when the star of the show – bagna cauda – was brought out. As soon as the tea candles were lit within the fojot, it was all arms and hands reaching for vegetables to dip into this pungent, aromatic sauce. I was told that cipollotti (scallions) were the best to eat with this dish. I need to think on that one, but I really like radicchio leaves and cauliflower.

After the bagna cauda (and seconds for the MotH), out came the bollito misto. I think it was at this point that the director of the event stopped by to see how everything was. Then he asked where I was from. GULP! I knew what was coming. Sure enough, our host was back up on the stage, declaring that a woman from Hawaii was here and she likes bagna cauda!

More offers of second helpings of bollito misto, then dessert of wine-poached pears, and then a very animated lottery where the winners took home prizes from local businesses. I had hoped to win one of the small containers of fresh mushrooms. And why not? This Hawaii signora just adores mushrooms.

5 thoughts on “Bagna cauda feast in Monale

  1. Kat

    Yeah I can comment, but not from the blog reader I use 🙂

    What a great event, everything sounded delicious and fun eating with others.

    Like

    Reply

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.