Cedro salad with shrimp and cucumber

It’s not very often that I come across a recipe that makes me want to run out asap and grab ingredients, but the lemon salad over at Polenta e Baccala is so unique that the summer of 2017 will be remembered as the one where I contentedly devoured it 3 days in a row.

Cedro and lemon
Cedro and your average lemon

The salad recipe utilizes the pith of a specific type of lemon found in southern Italy. Contrary to what most might believe, the spongy part of certain citrus are actually edible, certainly good for you, and definitely not as bitter as the average lemon. I wasn’t able to get the type called for, but this enormous cedro (citrus medica ) was better than nothing.

Cedro weighing in at 767 grams

Weighing in at 767 grams (1 lb. 11 oz.), it’s almost as big as Maddie’s head. It’s also untreated so I saved the peel for later use. The soft pith is very thick.

Cedro halved

On the left is the result from Polenta e Baccala’s recipe using half of that cedro. To the right is the other half in something I came up with to use the cukes we’ve been harvesting from the garden. It has cooked shrimp, chopped cucumbers, fresh basil, evoo, a good squeeze of lime juice and salt & pepper to taste. Serve chilled.

Cedro salads

Both salads taste even better the 2nd day. Great on its own or as a side to crispy pan fried fish or chicken.

9 thoughts on “Cedro salad with shrimp and cucumber

  1. polentaebaccala

    Nice! I’m happy I gave you a good idea 🙂 I never tried with cedro, but looks great too, and shrimps sounds perfect there.
    Since you can get cedro then I’m giving you another good recipe that I discovered in Amalfi coast: risotto with cedro juice and provola (or scamorza) 🙂 that’s also very nice!

    Like

    Reply
      1. polentaebaccala

        Well, I think that the real “limone pane”, that huge fruit that I linked in a video in my post, it’s not really available somewhere else and I’m not sure it has a profitable market, so probably only people living there have it in their gardens and they use it for them. But the famous lemons of Amalfi (“Sfusato Amalfitano”) and Sorrento (“Femminiello Sorrentino”, or “Ovale di Sorrento”) are also absolutely perfect for it, and those are a bit easier to find.

        Like

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

