Cheese, chestnuts, and EXPO on the horizon!

With the fall equinox just around the corner and Christmas less than 4 months away, I’m not wondering where the time went, I’m just very sad to see summer gone so soon! For the past two weeks we’ve been enjoying some much appreciated peace and quiet after “the summer neighbors” packed up and left for the season. No more shouting, screaming, and in general uncivilized behavior from people who can’t seem to appreciate the tranquil beauty of living in a chestnut forest. But what do I know? Maybe it’s because I’m old, or maybe they just hate chestnuts and think we are all backward mountain folk.

Roccolo and agrì
Roccolo from Valtaleggio and Agrì from Valtorta from Il Sole e La Terra

Anyhow, I am back, I am hungry for italian food festivals, and September is shaping up to be a month of great things as we await the Slow Food Cheese fair in Bra. There’s Expo Milano to visit (after hearing reports, we need a damn strategy to tackle the masses), and of course chestnut season which should be an excellent one this year. Just outside our property the trees are loaded with the prickly husks but shhh…don’t tell!

Chestnut forest 2015

Chestnuts 2015

6 thoughts on “Cheese, chestnuts, and EXPO on the horizon!

  1. Diana

    I’m looking forward to Slow Food Cheese too! Though it seems with every new edition, I can comfortably eat less cheese before I’m stuffed. Bummed. BTW don’t miss the Brazil pavilion at EXPO, it’s the most fun 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      Regarding the cheese fair…gosh, we’re such gluttons that I always need to bring along a couple packets of Citrosodina with all the cheese-tasting, wine and beer-tasting, and of course the street food kiosks! The Brazil pavillion is on the list just for the net alone (it looks like a lot of fun!).

      Like

      Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      That EXPO…geez. I only hear horror reports of very, very, very long lines at the Japan pavillion, so I hope that by going mid-week, we won’t be seeing as much of a crowd (although I’m not holding my breath on that).

      Like

      Reply
      1. Rowena Post author

        I’ve been reading and hearing that if you go during weekdays, or if you go at night, it’s not that bad. MotH’s work colleague has been going at night (reduced fee, only 5€) but I’d rather just go for it in one full day and hope for the best.

        Like

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

