Salatu niebe

90°F, 93°, 95°! Keep the iced tea flowing! It is just so hard to put thoughts into words, into sentences, and into a post when I would rather be somewhere in Norway or anywhere that isn’t so bleeding hot! This torrid heat we’ve been suffering since the beginning of July isn’t going away any time soon, but if there is one good thing to come out of the weather, it has to be the explosive growth of cukes, toms and zukes in the garden. Salatu niebe (I’ve also seen it spelled saladu ñebbe) is a cold legume and vegetable salad that I saw on a cooking show. The dish hails from Senegal and is a refreshing side to grilled meats, or great all on its own.

Salatu niebe

I simply eye-balled amounts but there are recipes online. The ingredients are:
cooked black-eyed peas
diced cucumber
diced red bell pepper
diced tomatoes (or use halved cherry tomatoes)
chopped scallions (I substituted with sweet red onions)
finely chopped habanero (I used cayenne pepper)
finely chopped parsley
freshly squeezed lime juice
olive oil
salt and pepper

Combine black-eyed peas and the next 4 vegetables (I try to get an even balance between all of the components) in a bowl. Add the chile (according to your heat preference), and parsley. Season to taste with lime juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. Chill before serving.

9 thoughts on “Salatu niebe

  1. Pingback: Salatu niebe | West Highland White Terrier | S...

  2. Nonna T

    The recipe seems fabulous for a hot day. We too have heard tales about your record breaking heat this summer! I especially feel for the elderly coping through this.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      Yes it has been especially difficult for them and even more so for those without airconditioning or at the very least, someone to go and check up on them.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      Here in the prealps (and especially at our altitude of over 2000 feet above sea level), nobody has aircon. We have wood-burning stoves and fireplaces, but air conditioning happens only in the city!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      You just gotta imagine me sitting wearily on the sofa, fan going full blast blowing hot air around the room. The heat + humidity was making me feel ill but as soon as I saw this on the tube, I was like YES! Now I can use up all those cukes sitting in my fridge!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      I check the website of our comune periodically to see if they’ve initiated water restrictions, but so far so good. My vegs would’ve kicked the bucket a long time ago if there were restrictions, but I save water from washing rice, rinsing vegs, and even water used to boil stuff so that I can use it for the plants.

      We should get some relief this weekend when it storms (it better!), but the high temps are predicted to return!

      Like

      Reply

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

