Bruges: for the love of chocolate and speculoos

Breakfast at B&B Nieuwhof
Breakfast at B&B Niewhof

However charming and romantic Bruges is, it did not get our full attention. Why? Because whenever we stay at a B&B that we really like, we tend to dawdle on the day of departure. We idle over breakfast and dilly-dally up to the very last minute until check-out, even if it means cutting into our sightseeing time later on. Upon reaching Bruges it was about a 10-minute walk to the historical center to blend in with the rest of the tourists, and between Grote Markt and snapshots around the city, we managed to accomplish what we set out to do in the first place – check out the chocolate shops. And what shops they are! It’s impossible to stroll the city without getting whiplash from gawking at every single store, but the one that won us over was Dominique Persoone’s The Chocolate Line.

The Chocolate Line

With a myriad of exotic flavors, cool shapes, and eye-catching colors, TCL is chocolate gone hip. They were the most expensive of chocolates purchased (16.50€/250 grams), and I am still kickng myself for not having just sucked it up and splurged on a whole kilo.

The Chocolate Line chocolates

What’s more, inserted into the box was a booklet with descriptions of each of their creations – very helpful to remember what you bought and to mark those you liked best for the next visit. Well, I like all of them!

The Chocolate Line booklet

I also picked up a box of Dumon chocolates (9€/250 grams) which are very good, but nothing like TCL’s. Note: 250 grams equals to at least 20 pieces.

Dumon chocolates

What we missed out on points of interest was more than made up for by sweet shops, like this one selling a variety of cuberdons, a sort of gummy candy. I tried some of these (bought at a belgian supermarket) but they were too sweet for me.

Cuberdons

And then I spied this window for Juliette’s speculoos and stopped in my tracks. Nobody ever mentioned speculoos! The MotH suggested we buy some and boy am I ever grateful that I listened that he insisted.

Juliette's in Bruges

These are amazing – buttery, not too sweet, lightly spiced, crisp, crunchy – and an alternative to all that dumb chocolate hanging around.

Juliette's speculoos assortment

Auf Wiedersehen Bruges! Until we meet again!!

Bruges on the water

13 thoughts on “Bruges: for the love of chocolate and speculoos

    1. Rowena Post author

      I am just sad that my husband did not get the job in Belgium, because can you imagine the trouble I’d get into with all that chocolate, meatballs and waffles?!?!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Poppy

    I love love love speculoos! There’s nothing like it in HI let alone the entire US. I think speculoos is similar to graham crackers. But it’s like the posh grown-up sibling to teddy grahams! 😉 What do you think?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      I think you hit the nail right on the head. Speculoos are exactly that, but I am surprised that they didn’t make it across the pond yet. Those danish butter cookies (in the blue tin) did!

      Like

      Reply
  2. annieparis

    Thanks for sharing about the Chocolate shop and delicious chocs tor. Ah Speculoos ..my favourite , been eating them for years and years . We used to live in Holland and Germany when I was a child ..had them then and been eating them ever since .. hope you enjoy them.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      Anne, all this time I thougt speculoos were a package of Lotus cookies…uhm….like how Oreos are packaged cookies. Now that I know differently, I want to actually try to make my own!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Bruges: for the love of chocolate and speculoos...

    1. Rowena Post author

      I would hit Bruges up again but also Ghent. There is a chocolate shop there – Yuzu – that I really wanted to check out but not enough time!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Lisa

    Wow the chocolates look Devine! The Speculoos look really delicious! I bet they would be good with Gelato!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    Like

    Reply

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

