The camel, the cake, and the crown (part II)

Now that the camels are out of the way I can get on with the cake and crown. Italy doesn’t do cakes for Epiphany like the fancy french galette des rois, or the spanish roscón de Reyes, but as it is, afterall, the last excuse for sweets without the guilt, I’m going to make like our neighbors to the west and indulge in the occasion. Today is also Man-of-the-House’s birthday, which is actually why I can’t ever forget to make some sort of celebratory dessert on January 6th.

Making galette des rois

Making galette des rois is a no-brainer with store-purchased puff pastry. Take 2 packages of puff pastry, cut out a round from each one and stack them like a sandwich with frangipane filling in between. I don’t crimp the edges with a fork like some do (I just lightly press to seal), but I love the tradition of tucking a bean or tiny bauble into the cake. Etch a design on the top, brush with egg wash, and bake until golden. The lucky person to find the bean or small toy in their slice of cake gets to be King or Queen for the day. I knew there was a reason for bringing home that Burger King crown.

Galette des rois

11 thoughts on “The camel, the cake, and the crown (part II)

  1. Anonymous

    I have seen instructions on how to make puff pastry and you know what? I would rather get it from the supermarket, just like you. My time can be spent doing something else less demanding!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura

    Love the idea of hiding something in a cake. Reminds me of a party game I played when I was very little with a coin hidden in flour. Must put that idea into practice 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      Playing a game of hide-n-seek is probably one of my all-time favorites as a kid, and I guess it rings true that some people will never grow up!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Nonna T

    We make a New Orlean’s style King’s cake and tuck a small plastic figure of a baby in it. The person who gets the baby gets to be the “Lord of Misrule” and hosts the following Mardi Gras party:-)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      Next year I might resort to doing something similiar with the extra loaves of panettone hanging around. They’re big enough to make a slit and stick, oh, a lottery ticket? 🙂

      Like

      Reply

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

