The camel, the cake, and the crown (part I)

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me,

Twelve tasty camels…

Puff pastry camels

Not that I would know what one of those humpbacked beasts really tastes like (that’s a job for Bourdain or Fred Chesneau), but after reading about puff pastry camels in Varese on Krumkaker, how could I not whip up a batch of my own? Apparently varesini bakers wanted to do their own thing for the Epiphany period and did just that with the mode of transport used by the Three Wise Men. If we didn’t live 2 hours away I’d ask MotH if he would be up for a visit, but I can’t believe that it took a blogger from Rome to enlighten me on the subject. Varese is in my region, so it goes to show that there’s always something new to learn in Italy.

Puff pastry camel

Purists may turn up their noses but store-bought puff pastry is my best trick in the kitchen. Too bad it yielded only 5 camels. I had one last batch of gingerbread dough in the fridge and am sad *sniff sniff* to see it go. 😦 So long Christmas, see you in 354 days!

Gingerbread camels

7 thoughts on “The camel, the cake, and the crown (part I)

    1. Rowena Post author

      It has everything to do with the great weather we had since the last 3rd of December. Grey skies and I’m lethargic, but when the sun shines I’m the energizer bunny!

      Like

      Reply

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

