Cashew meringue cookies

Cashew meringue cookies

This comes a day late seeing that my goal was to bake something sweet every third day since the start of December, but given the date, I know I’m not the only one in crunch mode. These meringue cookies would fall under the meringa category in Italy, but oddly enough, they’re actually called macaroons in Mangalore (India).

Meringue can be tricky if you don’t get the oven temperature and the beaten egg whites just right, and since it’s the first time for making these, I can’t say they’re exactly a success. The pale macaroons at The Chef are flawless, but I realized too late that the amount of sugar called for wasn’t something I was comfortable with so I made an adjustment. Was it a wise move on my part? Well, in the end the macaroons were crisp, crunchy, and delicious despite their mutant appearance, so I can’t really complain. A recipe on The Saffron Chronicles uses significantly less sugar so I’ll try that one next. The following notes are for the former recipe.

* It suggests preheating the oven to 90°C, but the lowest mine will go is 110°C
* The sugar called for equals to about 1½ cups – I cut that to 1 cup (and it was plenty sweet)
* At the end of scooping the batter there was more meringue than cashews, so have some extra on hand to stir into the mix

6 thoughts on “Cashew meringue cookies

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

