Provence unpacked

Fruit stand in Provence

Okay last post for Provence! Lavender, soaps, cheese, wine, bread, foodstuffs, sweets, what else? If the weather had been kinder, impulse and tempation would’ve burned much larger holes in our pockets. I love shopping in this area of France. We passed on several well-known provencal markets because of the heat and crowds (Lourmarin was a madhouse), and having the dogs with us meant never leaving them in the car, even for a few minutes.

Soaps from Provence
A little over 3 dozen bars of soap. If only italian markets could have these.

Potato chips from France
France has the ultimate variety of potato chips. I see nothing like this in Italy, or Hawaii for that matter.

Stuff from Provence
Lavender essence, massage oil, syrup, and dried for use in cooking. I also love the coco blanc beans that you can find at the supermarkets.

A morning in Aix-en-Provence
Artisan breads from Farinoman Fou in Aix-en-Provence. His products warrant a visit for all bread gourmands, and I will even go so far to say that one bite of the Choco-Sourire will have you smiling with bliss. With Farinoman Fou, man cannot can live by bread alone. Along with some sweet french butter, thank you very much. For a close-up look of how these look on the inside: Bread stash from Farinoman Fou.

Cheese from Provence
Say CHEESE!!! Not a whole lot, given our love of french fromage. A couple of banon cheeses from Banon, and we also stopped at Claudine Vigier’s Fromagerie du Comtat in Carpentras.

Wines from Provence

We didn’t have the time or energy to do wine tours, so we did the next best thing and shopped at a Carrefour and Maison des Vins in Les Arcs sur Argens. They carry 800 different wines with the Côtes de Provence appellation, and only Cotes de Provence (so don’t go in there hunting for Bandol). www.maison-des-vins.fr/

14 thoughts on “Provence unpacked

  1. Pingback: Provence unpacked | Rubber Slippers In Italy

  2. Tasty Travels

    OMG! My kinda girl! I love your shopping stash!! You picked all the fun things in life! I love traveling and checking out the potato chip flavors. Japan and Thailand have some fun ones! I’ll have to try the chorizo flavored ones. Sounds yummy! Hey, I’m headed to Italy in the fall!! Woo hoo!!

    Like

    Reply
      1. Tasty Travels

        I just bought my plane ticket. Oct 8-19 Traveling with a friend who’s never been. We’re still planning the itinerary but yes, if Milan is in the plans, I would love to meet up!!! =0)

        Like

  3. carlae

    I was at the Foodland in Waimea the other day and the girl in front of me was buying Lays potato chips. These were the flavors Sriracha, Cheesy Garlic Bread and Chicken & Waffles. I guess there was a contest with Lays and those were the winning flavors. I haven’t tried them myself.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      Well I am IMPRESSED! Those flavors didn’t when I was still in the islands, and I can tell you right now that Chicken & Waffles is making me all giddy.

      Like

      Reply
  4. meredith

    Yay you made it to Aix! I am reading this while eating French potato chips 🙂 I’ve read through your other posts…looks like you saw a lot and had a good time. Hope to see you soon on your side of the mountain. Baci 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rowena Post author

      We made it but I was not very prepared on the area that we were in. If I had just walked another 50 meters from a place that we stopped for cappuccino….. we would have come across Fromagerie Gérard Paul on rue des marseillas! We just have to get back. All of the bread from Farinoman Fou is long gone from the freezer!

      Like

      Reply

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

