Give me lavender, or give me bread!

Provence 2003
Provence 2003: exact location unknown. One happy Hawaii girl with a fougasse and a baguette.

Not to twist Patrick Henry’s – “Give me liberty, or give me death!” – in any way, but the first time I visited Provence, I recall how much of a priority it was to get my hands on a freshly baked fougasse. Yes, Italy has focaccia, but you know, to a newbie visitor to France, it’s all about getting the most out of an experience. If a boulangerie didn’t have any fougasse, I’d insist that we go elsewhere until we found one that did. A solo baguette wasn’t going to cut it. Hey look! There’s another boulangerie up ahead!

It’s been a decade since this picture was taken, and while we’ve been back to Provence at least a couple of times after that, we’ve never been able to time it right where the lavender was at peak bloom and just before it was all harvested. We also haven’t been back since the film A Good Year came out, so when we recently watched Russell Crowe and Marion Cotillard in such sublime settings, it sparked the idea to drop in at Cucuron where the dinner by the pond scene was shot. Six days in Provence, preceded by a short stayover in Liguria. Check back at the end of the month for a load of lavender and bread.

6 thoughts on “Give me lavender, or give me bread!

    1. Rowena Post author

      I didn’t make note of the restaurant’s hours for the evening that we went (Tuesday) and they were closed! Had to settle for a mediocre meal at L’Arbre de Mai, but we had a nice night out all the same.

      Like

      Reply

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

