Eat, Play, Laugh…and Pizzelle

Well Julia Roberts’ new flic got 1 out of the 3 right. If she had only stuck around Italy, because eventually she would’ve learned that you can do all three – Eat, Pray, Love – on any given day in this country. Where do you think the Pope prays? Gardaland? And as for love, I can’t tell you how many displays of affection I’ve seen out in public. Love is not a secret. Eating, of course, comes with the territory which is where I take my cue to let readers know that we’re off on an epic road trip to explore the heel of Italy’s boot. I’ve set the blog on auto-post but I warn you! When we get back there will be a lot to share.

Speaking of sharing, I’d like to mention a blog that came to my attention when the author asked if she could use one of my images. Flavia’s Flavors has an appreciation for italian folk tradition as much as I do, so it was a pleasure to be of assistance. In her post on pizzelle, she gives a recipe and also some interesting fact on this wafer cookie. As these photos show, it was a good day for eating, playing and laughing at my kitchen mistakes. The trick is making sure the pizzelle iron is hot enough before you pour on the batter, and to resist using too much. I made such a mess on the first go.

Rectangular pizzelle
Rectangular shaped ones.

Round pizzelle
And the round ones too.

Is just like making pancakes!
On the batter amount: not too much, not too little, but juuuuuuust right.

Chili & rice pizzelle cup
Also a meat & bean chili & rice pizzelle bowl (a very small one).

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

