Frutti di Bosco

A few years back (before making the move to Italy), a young tourist couple walked into the bakery where I was employed. The woman had a foreign accent when she greeted me in english, and soon I learned that they were from Umbria. Her attention turned to the scones. “Those are blueberry scones,” I say to her. Immediately she exclaims “Ahh! Frutti di bosco!” then began to point out the other flavors to her husband. Blueberries, raspberries, wild strawberries, blackberries and other berry fruits are referred to as frutti di bosco or fruit of the woods.

Looking for a good blackberry dessert, I came across a recipe for Blackberry Frangelico Torte (see link below). It’s a quadruple-layer hazelnut cake with white chocolate buttercream, blackberry mousse, and blackberry coulis. Had I followed the instructions exactly I’m sure the outcome would’ve been spectacular, but I downsized the recipe to get a 25% yield in batter and baked it in an 8-inch springform pan. As for the filling, I simplified things a little and did a half recipe of the buttercream and a full recipe for the coulis, then incorporated just enough coulis to get a nice blackberry flavor.

Recipe link: razzledazzlerecipes.com/berrylane/blacfra.htm

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

