A Good Fork | Una Buona Forchetta

Una buona forchetta. Those three words are what I’ve always been wanting to hear, because it acknowledges me as being…A Good Fork. Well, I got my wish while out to dinner with a group of friends when one of them turned to me and said, “Sei una buona forchetta!

I could feel a big grin beginning to spread on my face.

And what is the big deal in being a good fork? Well, in Italy it means a person who has a good appetite for food, one that isn’t afraid to try new tastes and neither discriminates nor declines a dish just because it’s unfamiliar or strong in smell (think cheese!). On those first few occasions when we’d be visiting the in-laws, my mother-in-law would always ask if there was anything that I don’t like to eat, and my reply would always be the same, “Mamma! Mi piace tutto!”  (I like everything!).

Dinner with friends at the italian brewery Birrificio Italiano.

UNA BUONA FORCHETTA. Queste tre parole sono cio’ che ho sempre voluto sentire, perche’ mi denota essere…una buona forchetta. Ho raggiunto questo desiderio mentre ero fuori a cena con un gruppo di amici, quando uno di loro si gira verso di me e dice “SEI UNA BUONA FORCHETTA!”

Potevo sentire un grosso ghigno cominciare ad aprirsi sulla mia faccia.

E che roba e’ una buona forchetta? Be’, in Italia significa una persona che ha un buon appetito per il cibo. Uno che non ha paura di provare nuovi sapori e nemmeno discrimina o rinuncia ad un piatto insolito solo perche’ ha un aspetto poco familiare o ha un forte odore (pensa al formaggio!). Nelle occasioni in cui abbiamo fatto visita ai suoceri, all’inizio mia suocera mi chiedeva se c’e’ qualcosa che NON mi piace mangiare. E la mia risposta era sempre la stessa, “MAMMA! MI PIACE TUTTO!”.

No need to fill in the blanks, but comments are moderated

